Call to Action: Don’t Turn Lakeview into a Parking Lot

Our neighbors in Lakeview need your help in preventing Alderman Tunney from turning the neighborhood into more of a parking lot. Please add your voice to this important issue that will have profound effects on transportation across the North Side. These negotiations are an opportunity to focus on transit, cycling, pedestrian, and livability issues and how transportation impacts community life. Your support is essential, make yourself heard before APRIL 8th.
“The word is out:  Alderman Tom Tunney wants to build a huge parking garage in Lakeview (Chicago Tribune).*  Few are standing up to say that parking garages bring more traffic and pollution to the neighborhood** and they are ugly.  Let’s spend the money on bicycling, transit, walking, and shuttles to existing garages.Will you tell Alderman Tunney that we want better solutions?  It’s easy, sign the petition here: www.change.org/petitions/alderman-tom-tunney-chicago-don-t-turn-lakeview-into-a-parking-lot.Alderman Tunney and the Cubs are negotiating every day, with a deadline of Monday, April 8.  They need to hear from YOU.  Please sign even if you do not live in the 44th Ward, as this issue affects us all.
SpotHero.com was invented in Lakeview to direct guests to parking, to match up supply to demand.  Lakeview and neighboring communities have parking lots that don’t fill up, including Cubs’ surface lots, Truman College, DeVry University, and lots of hospitals.  With a little planning and more investment in choices, we do not need this garage.
Please sign the petition TODAY and send this message to Alderman Tunney and the Cubs.

About bikeuptown46

I am currently the Communications Director for the Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters which represents 33,000 union men and women in three states who swing a hammer for a living. I publsih a magazine, a couple of email newsletters and two websites. I also do videos, webinars, advertisng and public relations. As an avid cyclist I ride a three-wheeled trike 5 to 6 days per week 52 weeks per year which adds up to between 5,000 and 6,000 miles year-round, including daily commutes along Chicago's lakefront ... polar vortexes included. I have never missed a day of work because of Chicago's weather. I am an activist who serves humanitarian and political causes: To advocate for the Sudanese in Illinois who have fled Southern Sudan and Darfur is one of my most rewarding experiences. I work with my son Sean on Sudan presentations at churches and community groups with my Sudanese friends on the problems facing them in Darfur, South Sudan and the United States. My son Sean and I work together on the Abolition Institute which seeks to end slavery in the west African nation of Mauritania. My photography chronicles Chicago's lakefront through my daily rides. My photo website is http://genetenner.com/ I just self-published my first photo-book on the history of my Chicago neighborhood: Sweet Home Buena Park. I live about one-half mile north of Wrigley Field in the Buena Park neighborhood.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Tell Tunney “More Options, Not More Parking”: Pitch In! | Bike Uptown

Leave a Reply

