Ald. Cappleman, Bike Uptown Showcase New “Stop for Peds” Signs

Alderman James Cappleman and members of Bike Uptown met at the intersection of Montrose and the Lakefront Trail Tuesday morning to showcase the new “Stop for Pedestrians” signs that Alderman James Cappleman and Bike Uptown worked together to get installed.

“My first priority continues to be increasing safety in the 46th Ward. Since I took office, I have been working with residents and organizations such as Bike Uptown to increase safety through small changes in the short term, with a plan of making more significant changes in the near future. I cannot begin to stress the importance of the 46th Ward becoming a bike-able and walkable community,” said Cappleman. “It is one of those things that transcend social dividing lines. Feeling safe walking and biking around our community is crucial to improving our quality of life.”

The morning’s event celebrated achievements furthering two of Cappleman’s transportation master plan goals: to reduce pedestrian, bicycle and auto crashes, and to improve safety along the 46th Ward portion of the Lakefront Trail.

“There is much to do in the 46th Ward, but much of the improvements involve simple measures,” said Bike Uptown member Margo O’Hara. “It is often something as simple as the ‘Stop for Pedestrians’ signs that we see here today, or street and crosswalk markings that that make a huge difference in making our community more livable.”

After a year of discussion, planning and progress Bike Uptown and the Chicago Department of Transportation worked together with Alderman Cappleman to make significant steps towards achieving his main transportation master plan goal of reducing pedestrian, bicycle, and auto crashes and improving safety in the 46th Ward.

“This is just the first step to a future that may include a redesign of the Montrose, Sheridan and Broadway intersection, separated bike lanes on Broadway and calmer streets for all to enjoy,” added O’Hara.

Posted by Gene Tenner

About bikeuptown46

I am currently the Communications Director for the Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters which represents 33,000 union men and women in three states who swing a hammer for a living. I publsih a magazine, a couple of email newsletters and two websites. I also do videos, webinars, advertisng and public relations. As an avid cyclist I ride a three-wheeled trike 5 to 6 days per week 52 weeks per year which adds up to between 5,000 and 6,000 miles year-round, including daily commutes along Chicago's lakefront ... polar vortexes included. I have never missed a day of work because of Chicago's weather. I am an activist who serves humanitarian and political causes: To advocate for the Sudanese in Illinois who have fled Southern Sudan and Darfur is one of my most rewarding experiences. I work with my son Sean on Sudan presentations at churches and community groups with my Sudanese friends on the problems facing them in Darfur, South Sudan and the United States. My son Sean and I work together on the Abolition Institute which seeks to end slavery in the west African nation of Mauritania. My photography chronicles Chicago's lakefront through my daily rides. My photo website is http://genetenner.com/ I just self-published my first photo-book on the history of my Chicago neighborhood: Sweet Home Buena Park. I live about one-half mile north of Wrigley Field in the Buena Park neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

