Streets for Cycling Plan 2020 Draft Network Released

The Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT) unveiled a draft network map (image via Grid‘s John Greenfield) detailing the locations of 150 miles of protected and buffered bike lanes comprising one element of the Streets for Cycling Plan 2020 last Tuesday at the Copernicus Center in Jefferson Park. This draft is informed by community input meetings held last winter throughout Chicago. The draft network is still open for comment, a final version will be presented during Bike to Work Week in June.

Taking SFC2020 one step further, CDOT took the opportunity to roll out the Citywide 2020 Network, a proposed comprehensive plan for 640 miles of new bikeways (including Neighborhood Greenways, protected lanes, bike lanes, and shared lanes). The proposed network can be seen here.

What’s in store for Uptown? Broadway, Lawrence, Leland, Winthrop, Kenmore, and more are shown as strong candidates for the Plan’s innovative new infrastructure types–protected/buffered lanes and neighborhood greenways. This plan reimagines Broadway and Lawrence as comfortable, safe connectors to the Lakefront Trail, the Loop, and beyond. Looking for a quiet, alternate route for a weekend ride? You might soon be able to take Leland or other proposed traffic-calmed neighborhood greenways to shop on Broadway or relax by Lake Michigan.

Keep your eyes peeled for exciting new traffic safety improvements in the 46th Ward.

For more on SFC 2020 and final opportunities to comment on the draft network visit CDOT’s Bicycle Program site here.

For additional reporting, pictures, and discussion, check out Grid’s post here.

posted by Eric Hanss

About bikeuptown46

I am currently the Communications Director for the Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters which represents 33,000 union men and women in three states who swing a hammer for a living. I publsih a magazine, a couple of email newsletters and two websites. I also do videos, webinars, advertisng and public relations. As an avid cyclist I ride a three-wheeled trike 5 to 6 days per week 52 weeks per year which adds up to between 5,000 and 6,000 miles year-round, including daily commutes along Chicago's lakefront ... polar vortexes included. I have never missed a day of work because of Chicago's weather. I am an activist who serves humanitarian and political causes: To advocate for the Sudanese in Illinois who have fled Southern Sudan and Darfur is one of my most rewarding experiences. I work with my son Sean on Sudan presentations at churches and community groups with my Sudanese friends on the problems facing them in Darfur, South Sudan and the United States. My son Sean and I work together on the Abolition Institute which seeks to end slavery in the west African nation of Mauritania. My photography chronicles Chicago's lakefront through my daily rides. My photo website is http://genetenner.com/ I just self-published my first photo-book on the history of my Chicago neighborhood: Sweet Home Buena Park. I live about one-half mile north of Wrigley Field in the Buena Park neighborhood.

Leave a comment