Park It Where You Like: Request Bike Racks!

Almost everyplace I go, I expect convenient, secure bike parking to be close to the entrance of my destination. With more people choosing to bike to work and their favorite businesses, restaurants, and nightlife hotspots in Uptown we’re running up against a shortage of bike parking in key locations. Unable to find a spot on the rack at a CTA station lately? Me too.

I noticed the bike parking was a little lean at some of my favorite neighborhood spots in Uptown. I’ve got a few suggestions, but don’t let that stop you from contacting the City to request a bike rack for your restaurant, store, office, or residence. Businesses and residents alike can request bike racks by calling 311 or entering requests on the City’s request site, here.

Here are a few places I’ve noticed that need some accommodation.

Golden House: There’s one good staple rack here, which is also meant to serve the Riviera Theater. This rack, and all the nearby poles and tress, get overloaded when folks bike here for concerts. I think we could give them a hand.

Green Mill: A jazz mecca, a bike parking wasteland! While it is conceivable that Uptowners show up at the Green Mill in limos, I think more than a few neighbors (and fans of Shake Rattle & Read) would like a rack here.

Demera: Yum. Looks like it’s under construction. Maybe a wave rack is going in? The corner needs some good bike parking, especially since it’s next to the Uptown Lounge.

Fat Cat: Wouldn’t you love to sit outside, Goose Island Matilda in hand, and scope out the cute bikes that pull up?

BaLe: There are a few poles around, but no bike parking. Given that they’ve allocated precious real estate to a small parking lot for cars, it seems like bikes should be accommodated.

Big Chicks: My favorite Uptown spot. If you think this bike rack is crowded, you should try ordering your dirty martini on Monday night. Twice the amount of bike parking here would not be overkill.

4069 N Kenmore: These people really need a place for their vehicles.

posted by Arline Welty

About bikeuptown46

I am currently the Communications Director for the Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters which represents 33,000 union men and women in three states who swing a hammer for a living. I publsih a magazine, a couple of email newsletters and two websites. I also do videos, webinars, advertisng and public relations. As an avid cyclist I ride a three-wheeled trike 5 to 6 days per week 52 weeks per year which adds up to between 5,000 and 6,000 miles year-round, including daily commutes along Chicago's lakefront ... polar vortexes included. I have never missed a day of work because of Chicago's weather. I am an activist who serves humanitarian and political causes: To advocate for the Sudanese in Illinois who have fled Southern Sudan and Darfur is one of my most rewarding experiences. I work with my son Sean on Sudan presentations at churches and community groups with my Sudanese friends on the problems facing them in Darfur, South Sudan and the United States. My son Sean and I work together on the Abolition Institute which seeks to end slavery in the west African nation of Mauritania. My photography chronicles Chicago's lakefront through my daily rides. My photo website is http://genetenner.com/ I just self-published my first photo-book on the history of my Chicago neighborhood: Sweet Home Buena Park. I live about one-half mile north of Wrigley Field in the Buena Park neighborhood.

3 comments

  1. Chava at Leland and Clark has a biking clientele, but no racks (and there’s only one at Carol’s Pub across the street). Also, I second the need for even more racks at Tweet/Big Chicks…for the breakfast rush on Weekends.

  2. Christine from Big Chicks here: we’ve put in a request earlier in the month for more bike racks… hopefully in 60-90 days we will have another one for our lovely cyclist patrons!

  3. Steggo Montego

    @Christine: We are HUGE FANS! Thank you for putting in your bike rack request. And thank you for being the best bar with the baddest art collection in Chicago.

Leave a Reply

